The finalists of the Inaugural Energy Innovation Awards 2010 have today been announced

May 27th, 2010

news-imageThe awards, the brainchild of the world-class Energy Innovation Centre, celebrate the outstanding achievements of individuals and organisations flying the flag for energy innovation and sustainability.

Entries were received from across the UK and as far afield as Eastern Europe, from a wealth of companies including start-ups and multinational organisations.

Judges, made up of leading experts from the energy industry, were impressed with the quality and diversity of the entries received.

The finalists are:

New Energy Generation
E-Energy Enterprise Limited (Merseyside)
Libralato (Greater Manchester)
Turbina IPD Ltd (Bosnia and Herzegovina)
Green Tide Turbines (Cambridgeshire)

Existing Performance Improvement
Applied Superconductor (Northumberland)
Arago Technology (Greater Manchester)
United Utilities & Perceptive (Cheshire)

Consumer Benefit Award
Wax RDC (Surrey)
Beech Properties (Greater Manchester)
Furlong Innovations (Merseyside)
ENW (Cheshire)

Best International Trade Award
FMC-Tech Ltd (Co. Clare, Ireland)
Turbina IPD Ltd (Bosnia and Herzegovina)

A special award, The Energy Innovation Grand Prix, will be awarded on the evening to the company that the Judges believe to have shown the greatest overall innovation.

Denise Massey, Director of the Energy Innovation Centre, revealed: “The judges were extremely impressed with both the quality and diverseness of the entries received for this, our first Energy Innovation Awards. Tackling rising energy demand is an enormous challenge and these awards are about honouring the innovation, best practice and sustainability taking place across the industry. Well done to all of the finalists.”

The Energy Innovation Centre, located in Capenhurst, Cheshire, fosters innovation and provides a gateway to accelerate cutting-edge products and technologies to market.

The Centre is funded by the Northwest Regional Development Agency (NWDA) with a £1.5 million start-up grant over six years. In April 2009, the Centre secured a further £620,000 from the European Regional Development Fund to support new businesses.

Steven Broomhead, Chief Executive, NWDA, said: “The NWDA is pleased to support the inaugural Energy Innovation Awards. These awards are the perfect opportunity to recognise and reward the commitment of the industry’s professionals and encourage more businesses to aspire to high standards. I look forward to the Awards and wish all those shortlisted companies the best of luck.”

The winners will be announced at the Energy Innovation Awards, which take place at The Hilton Deansgate in Manchester on Thursday June 17th 2010.

Manchester-based company Out There Events is supporting the Energy Innovation Centre in staging the awards.

Tickets, sponsorship opportunities and more detail about the awards dinner can be found at


Leave a Reply